2018 Travers Fellowship Journalists Recognized with National Journalism Award

WINNIPEG, May 6, 2019 - The Canadian Association of Journalists is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 CAJ Awards for outstanding investigative journalism.

This included presenting the McGillivray Award to Laura Kane and Aleksandra Sagan of The Canadian Press, who won the year's top investigative prize for their entry Contagion: Edging closer to a world without antibiotics. The entry looked at the challenge of how to deal with antibiotic-resistant bacteria that can maim and kill.

Contagion was also recognized as the recipient in the Open Media category earlier in the evening.

The awards were presented at the conclusion of the 2019 CAJ conference, held at the Radisson Hotel in Winnipeg.


OPEN MEDIA Recipients

Laura Kane (left), Aleksandra Sagan (right)
Contagion: Edging closer to a world without antibiotics, The Canadian Press